Mornings at Rosedale

Mornings at Rosedale

by Cam M. Roberts
(for Mackenzie Finnegan)

How many times have you stirred me
from my slumber in the uncouth mornings
as you were on your way out the door to teach
the kindergartners what this world has to offer?

You must’ve discovered me
on one of the promiscuous couches,
or thereupon the unforgiving floor,
surrendered to my limits
or in my asceticism,
I had no pillow, no stone,
though I kept my fear
of falling off of beds.
My body stayed contorted orderly
like a crippled strand
of something still worth having,
all six feet of me under
my rainbow blanket from Mexico
now rendered thus: a cocoon –
wherein I ruminated in REM cycles
with hopes of consecrating
an eternal metamorphosis.

You sounded-off startling
voices I never knew you possessed,
in dark deep resonant registers,
syncopated and cadenced commands
with monosyllabic words,
first a matriarch, then a sergeant, and so on…

Time to wake up
Class starts at eight
Come on, sit up
You will be late

I’m recalled to life
this very instant
out of dreams
out of comas

The front door would close, soberingly.
Soon after, the shutting of a car door,
then the engine starting,
and you driving away.

And, the world would go on
with
or without
me.

 

© CMR, 2013
About Cam M. Roberts

Actor, Writer & Poet. WFU '12. NCSSM '08.
This entry was posted in 2013, Poetry, Uncategorized, WFU and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mornings at Rosedale

  1. The way the world continues on, regardless of how we feel in the moment, can seem uncaring… You speak to this notion well in the poem.

  2. Hello Cam! This poem is a quintessential human experience and yet it is a weaving of words never spun this way before! I love it!

  3. Billie says:

    Stunning! And great picture of Mikhail Baryshnikov, my favourite ballet dancer ever!

Comments are closed.